Base Map app

Broz

LRO Owner~Editor~Long Range Hunting Specilist
Reaction score
Foot of the Big Belt Mountains near Townsend MT.
Well I studied for quite a while before I settled on Base Map for my GPS / land ownership / government lands, phone app.

I must say I am impressed so far. Accurate enough to know what room in my house I am in. Handy ability to trace a land parcel and give you acres inside your lines. Many layers like state , BLM, Forest service and Block management. Graphics are awesome. Weather is cool too. Plus a wind direction at your hunt stops is available.

It was a hard choice between Base Map and On X. But I am comfortable with my decision. Who else uses Base Map? Lets start sharing favorite features.

Jeff

Screenshot_20201019-092050_BaseMap.jpg

Zoomed in.
Screenshot_20201019-092143_BaseMap.jpg

Last edited:

Broz

Reaction score
There seems to be a bug in the Basemap app when used on an android phone. It is an issue with the weather not updating and a few other weather related things. I reported it and they are now aware and working on and update to fix it. I will wait a few days, then I may look at other options for an app.

Brendan

Reaction score
I personally don't use either, I've tried OnX, BaseMap, and Gaia GPS and use Gaia.

At the end of the day, I think both BaseMap and Gaia are much better values than OnX, Gaia's just been around longer , more developed IMO, and I'm much more used to it. Nice to have it work with Carplay in the car too when I want it up on the dash.

Broz

Reaction score
Just looking at Gaia's website. I had never heard of it. What is the advantage? Graphics on Basemap look better from the first glance. ?

I would only want it for hunting from my phone I think, so connectivity to other devices is not that important.

I really like the "Draw Shape" feature on base map where I can trace a parcel of land and get distances and acres inside the shape. I use that for ranch work and such.

Brendan

Reaction score